School Logo

Great Missenden Church of England Combined School

An Academy of the Great Learners Trust


Children's Learning

The Early Years Foundation Stage

What is the EYFS?


The EYFS is a play based curriculum which supports all professionals working in the Early Years age group. It sets out the legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare and the 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge. The framework assessments tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS and the expected levels (Early Learning Goals) that your child should reach at the age of 5, which is usually at the end of Reception.

How we plan at Great Missenden Pre-School

Learning through play is a key focus at Great Missenden Preschool. We recognise that children develop in individual ways and at varying rates. We plan accordingly to every child’s individual learning and developmental needs, with a focus on the characteristics of effective learning.

We follow a child-led approach to learning and provide first hand experiences based on children’s interests.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statutory framework for Early Years settings. It underpins the importance of learning through play for children. Your child will be learning new skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating understanding through the 7 areas of development.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language

Physical Development



Understanding the world

Expressive Arts and Design

At Great Missenden Pre-school we use these areas to plan activities and develop your child’s learning. We also encourage children to learn by ‘playing and exploring’, ‘being active’ and through ‘creating and thinking critically’ – which are the Characteristics of Effective Learning.


Click here to view the EYFS Development Matters Document